X is for…

Xocolātl.

I generally prefer it processed and blended with other ingredients. But I like it more bitter than sweet, barely like milk version, and don’t like white at all. My tastes run to gourmet and European rather than grocery store American. It’s very nice in coffee or as it’s own beverage.

Of course I’m talking about chocolate.

I really do enjoy good chocolate, as do my children. Our one request of hub whenever he travels to Europe is to bring us back chocolate. So we’ve had chocolates from France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Belgium, and U.K.

I love that chocolate is so versatile, working with both savory and sweet. Chicken with mole sauce. Chocolate bars with bacon pieces or chili powder. All kinds of fruits and nuts are better with chocolate. I love orange and chocolate, cherries and chocolate, hazelnuts and chocolate. Chocolate candies, chocolate ice cream, chocolate cakes and cookies and pastries…

It’s a good thing we don’t keep too much of the good stuff around the house 🙂

About Robin Michelle

I write, I take photos, I read... I like to do things that make me happy.

Posted on 28 April 2014, in A to Z Challenge, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That is a word I’ve never seen before for chocolate.

    • Robin Michelle

      I did some searching for words that start with X and it popped up. Apparently it’s the Aztec/Classical Nahuatl word for chocolate.

  2. Clever use of the X word. And I’m with you on the chocolate, although I like milk chocolate.

    • Robin Michelle

      Thank you 🙂 It was a struggle to find something for X that wasn’t the usual xylophone or cheating by dropping a preceding letter (i.e. xciting).

  3. I like all kinds. I’m a great fan of very dark chocolate myself.
    I’m visiting for the A to Z challenge. One of my team’s blogs is Poetry of the Netherworld.

    • Robin Michelle

      Thank you for visiting and commenting. I too prefer the darker versions of high quality chocolates. Add a little fruit or nut, and I’m in heaven 🙂

  4. I like the creative way you used X for chocolate. Chocolate is one of my ultimate favorite foods, too. I always feel a let-down if dessert doesn’t include some chocolate in some form.

Leave a Reply

