V is for…

Vision.

I am and always have been a very visual person. If I had to choose between losing my hearing or my sight, I’d choose to lose my hearing.

Which makes the fact that as I age my eyesight is getting worse a cruel joke.

To be fair, it’s not as bad as so many others, but for someone who has gotten used to being able to read everything, even the tiny script used on so many products, it really sucks. So far it’s just my close vision that’s affected and not my distance. But I’m sure that’ll happen too.

I hate that I have to have glasses at hand at all times — while shopping, looking at maps, on my phone, reading books and magazines, viewing and editing photos. And my eyes are not equally bad so I can’t just pick inexpensive reading glasses off a rack. Even with insurance, a decent pair of glasses can be a bit costly.

I have a Nook so I can adjust text size, which is nice, but I still have lots of paper books to read. I’ve bolded what text I can on my phone, enlarged it in those apps that allow me to. Use larger text and such on my computer. And when I have my daughter along with me, it’s not unusual for me to hand something to her so she can read it out to me.

Anyway, it’s a pain and a hassle and it sucks. But what can I do but adapt ~sigh~

About Robin Michelle

I write, I take photos, I read... I like to do things that make me happy.

Posted on 25 April 2014, in A to Z Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

