U is for…

Useful/useless information.

I am full of it. I mean the above kind of information.

I believe I’ve mentioned before that I’m a readaholic — I read all sorts of things, fiction and non-fiction. This means that when I’m checking out Twitter or Facebook or other things, I click on a lot of links to a variety of articles on a wide variety of subjects – politics, science, nature, current events. And often I read or hear about something that piques my interest further so I do some research on it.

One of the results of all this reading and research is a brain full of tidbits of information, not always really useful.

Sure, sometimes it’s useful — writing stories, knowing what I’m photographing, knowing what that unpronounceable ingredient just might be and how bad it is, knowing what that word or phrase means and its etymology. And so on and so on.

But more often it’s really useless information that will never be used that’s just taking up space in my brain. And it can be terribly distracting as these bits of info buzz around my brain when I’m having conversations, reading, watching TV or a movie….

~sigh~

I like to think I manage to keep most of it bottled up so I don’t come off as an obnoxious know-it-all, and I do try to preface anything I might say less as an ‘I know’ and more as an ‘I think I read somewhere’ or ‘if I recall correctly’. If someone shows me I’m in error, I have no problem admitting, accepting, and moving on.

Anyone else have a head full of useful/useless information?

About Robin Michelle

I write, I take photos, I read... I like to do things that make me happy.

Posted on 24 April 2014, in A to Z Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh, yes, ,my dear. I definitely have a head full of useless information, although sometimes it comes out handy. By the way, I gave you a shout out in my “S” blog challenge: Share Blogs. You can read it here: http://travelbug-susan.blogspot.com/2014/04/share-blogs-state-parks-and-splashing.html

Leave a Reply

