T is for…

Traveling.

I’ve been fortunate that I’ve been able to do some traveling – domestically and internationally. The actual traveling to the destinations is not necessarily my favorite part… Sometimes it’s really just a necessary evil. So I won’t talk too much about that.

As a child, we often took car trips, sometimes just for hours, driving random roads up in the mountains, stopping when we felt like it to check out views, rivers, historical sites. Sometimes the drives were longer. When we lived in California, every other summer we would drive up to Washington to visit family, taking our time, exploring and camping on the way. When we moved to Washington, the trips were then back down to California, usually every other Christmas. And then when my sister and I were old enough, our grandparents would fly us down to visit. Occasionally we were the only passengers on the small planes that flew into the local airport.

When I was 16 I went to Germany and Denmark, traveling there by myself then staying with friends and family while there. The best thing about traveling without parents and staying with locals was the freedom and ability to really see things — not the censored version I otherwise might have gotten. I still plan to someday get back there.

During our marriage we’ve done quite a bit of international travel, some with the kids, some without. First to Pakistan to meet my husband’s family, then two Mediterranean cruises, trips to Wales, England, and France, a cruise around New Zealand and Australia, and another along the Pacific coast of Mexico. I loved the Mediterranean and would gladly go there again, as much as possible. New Zealand and Australia are so large, that one cruise/trip was definitely not enough. And I know our kids would love to travel some more too.

Ultimately I’ve been to 24 states — living in 6 of them. And I’ve visited 14 countries so far, with a few more on my ‘to see’ list.

One of the things I’m excited about with living in the South now is new states and places to visit. Lots of Georgia yet to see, we’ve made one quick trip to South Carolina, but still need to see more Atlantic states as well as the Gulf. I’ve already been doing some random driving around just to see what’s here. And I’m hopeful that maybe we’ll add the Bahamas and Caribbean to our list of cruises.

About Robin Michelle

I write, I take photos, I read... I like to do things that make me happy.

Posted on 23 April 2014, in A to Z Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love travelling too and have been very fortunate to visit many countries and cities and live in two countries.

    Dropping by from A to Z

  2. I could have written this! We have a lot in common.

Leave a Reply

