A is for…

April.

April became a very important month for me 21 years ago when my oldest daughter was born. {Happy birthday, sweetie :-* }

Until then it was just another typical Spring month, one that Easter sometimes happened in. And the month that taxes are due – ugh.

This year, it’s our first April down south and I am enjoying watching our yard come to life as the weather warms. I’ve identified Mahonia and red maples and azaleas; I think we have day lilies; the roses are fully leafed out; there’s vining strawberry — no blossoms yet, but soon I hope. The hollies are covered with small white buds that should open soon. Several other bushes and shrubs are covered with leaves and buds and I am looking forward to finding out what they are. The willow that was coated with ice during the storm is now covered with bright green leaves — which the neighborhood deer are enjoying. I see slight signs of buds on the sweet gums and the gingko. And even the lawn is showing signs of green under the brown.

The weather has finally warmed enough to be able to actually go out and enjoy all the life that Spring brings. And take pictures, some of which will be posted to Instagram.

Yay, April 🙂

About Robin Michelle

I write, I take photos, I read... I like to do things that make me happy.

Posted on 1 April 2014, in A to Z Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. My 5 year old (well, almost) was born in April, too, a month and a half earlier than he should’ve been, so it’s a special month for me, too.

    Looking forward to seeing what you do with the A-Z posts…Neat blog!

  2. happy A to Z and good luck. Nice start to the month of April. enjoy the flowers

  3. Hi. I have good thoughts of April too – my birthday, my daughter’s birthday, my parents anniversary, my brother’s birthday,.. I could go on. It’s a good month. Happy A to Z Challenge!

    • Robin Michelle

      Most of our family birthdays are November thru January, so spring ones are a nice change of pace.
      Thank you for your comment 🙂

  4. We’re still waiting for Washington, DC to warm, though it’s been better. We’ve had way, way too much snow. Just the other day we were only supposed to get rain, and then I looked out the window and it was snowing. Didn’t stick though, and we’ve had sun since then, and the cherry blossoms are coming.

    • Robin Michelle

      While it was miserable cold for much of the winter here, it was so much better than many other places, including Illinois (where we moved from). If we hadn’t already moved, this winter might well have been the impetus to get us out of there. So glad things are finally warming up all over.
      Thank you for commenting.

  5. April is my daughter’s birthday month as well : ) She’s going to be 22. Isn’t April a wonderful rebirth month? I love spring!

Leave a Reply

