Wildlife 2

The other morning, while letting a cat out, I noticed a very large, healthy looking squirrel circling the spa. Clearly he was trying to figure out how to reach the water, which was about a foot below the edge.

I’m watching, mumbling “please don’t go in the water; please don’t fall in and drown”, when I see movement from the other side of the yard.

It’s a hawk, swooping over the pool, heading straight for the squirrel. The squirrel was faster, darting into hiding before the hawk reached the edge of the spa. The hawk shifted flight, pausing briefly in a tree (before noticing me standing there) then flew off.

I do have to say, having seen hawks hunting before, that I don’t think it was really trying.

******************************

Another morning, after I’d gotten back from my walk and before my husband left for work, he called me out to the front door. Way up high on the wall was a lizard. We’re still not exactly sure how it got into the house. Nor were we sure how we were going to get it out. Lizards are quick, and with a two-story entry, it was going to be very easy for it to stay out of our reach.

I decided to leave the front door open, with the glass storm door closed. Not really for the lizard but because it was nice out and it’s easier to tell when a cat wants back in.

A little while later, while heading to the kitchen, I noticed the lizard wasn’t up on the wall any more. When I approached the front door, there it was, down in the bottom corner, looking for a way out. So I obliged it. I opened the storm door, which got me a look of concern, and with a little nudging with my toe, it hopped off and disappeared into a flower pot.

Since then I’ve seen a smaller, greener lizard climbing around on one of the pillars outside the door.

************************************

And final story… For now.

Once a week we take care of the pool — testing the water, adding any necessary chemicals, brushing off the steps and sides, emptying the skimmers, scooping out debris… All those things that need to be done regularly to keep the pool nice.

I had my daughter out helping me. While she turned on the hose and opened the skimmers, I got the scoop. But not to scoop out leaves. Oh no. What I had to scoop out of the pool was a dead critter, of the furry type. I’m not exactly sure what it was — a chipmunk or some type of squirrel. But yuck 😦  I flung it off into some distant bushes.

By this time my daughter had two skimmers open and was opening the third as I approached. Just in time to see the snake curled up in one corner.

“Snake.”

“What?”

“Snake!” This time with pointing.

“What? Where?”

By this time I’m thinking we may need to have her vision and hearing checked.

“Right there. In the skimmer. In the corner.” Now I’m standing as close to it as I’m comfortable.

She wanders up, looks down, “Oh.”

I grabbed the scoop and attempted to coax it off into the bushes outside the pool area. Yeah, that didn’t work too well as it went the opposite direction, right down into the skimmer proper. And stayed there. I hoped it would swim out into the pool so I could scoop and fling, but nope.

Now, I don’t know what kind of snake this was. All I know is that while most snakes here are harmless, there are some very poisonous ones — rattlesnakes, water moccasins/cottonmouths, coral snakes, copperheads. I was knew it wasn’t a rattler (no rattle) and it wasn’t a coral snake (no red, yellow, and black) and I was pretty sure it wasn’t a water moccasin. But I couldn’t 100% rule out copperhead. It was about 8″ long, maybe half an inch in diameter at it’s widest. The head didn’t look triangular to me, and the patterning seemed wrong but I’ve heard that juvenile copperheads look like a lot of other snakes. So while I didn’t want to kill it, I also didn’t want to get too close, just in case.

I went and got the smaller scoop that would actually fit into the skimmer and helped it out. By this time it was extremely upset with the situation, attacking the scoop repeatedly. I persisted, and finally, managed to get it into the scoop. And promptly flung it over the fence and into the bushes — where it stayed for a while, probably in shock.

Of course, we will all be much more careful now when opening the pool skimmers.

 

About Robin Michelle

I write, I take photos, I read... I like to do things that make me happy.

Posted on 23 September 2013, in Nature, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

